Star Wars

StarWarsMoviePoster1977

I am embarrassed to say that I have never seen Star Wars before. But what can I say? My family was an Indiana Jones and Mel Brooks family. Everything I knew about Star Wars I learned from Spaceballs (which in retrospect probably would have been funnier if I had actually seen Star Wars). But I was excited to watch it, I was only slightly concerned that it was listed as Star Wars, I knew that there were three original movies that were considered much better than the second three, but still, would I have to watch the first three Star Wars movies? Wouldn’t that make it AFI’s top 102 movies of all time? And who has time to watch six hours of Star Wars in a single day? Turns out that Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope, was originally titled Star Wars, so my panic was short lived.

So in case you don’t know the general plot of Star Wars (because I’m sure there are other people like me in the world) it’s about relatively young Luke Skywalker and his desire to defeat the Empire and it’s leader Darth Vader. On his journey he works with Han Solo (played by the wonderful Harrison Ford), Chewbacca, droids C-3PO and R2D2, and Princess Leia to defeat the empire.

Obviously Skywalker doesn’t start the movie thinking he is going to destroy an Empire today. But R2D2 has a message from the beautiful Princess Leia asking for help from Obi-Wan Kenobi. So Skywalker finds Kenobi and tries to rescue Leia from the Empire (I’m assuming so he could get some, his home looked pretty unpopulated by the young female generation). And than Han Solo and Chewbacca kind of get reeled in.

Can we talk about Harrison Ford for a second

HanChillinAtChalmuns-ANH

I don’t understand how anyone in the 1970’s was not attracted to him. And even though you kind of root for the whole Luke and Leia (and yes I know the whole sibling thing, but I like to approach a movie with an open mind and ignorance of spoilers), it’s pretty unrealistic to think that she would go for Luke over Han Solo.

I also think it’s super funny that Christopher Walken and Sylvester Stallone were considered for the role of Han Solo. I think that Rocky would have made a phenomenal space pilot and pulled off the vest wonderfully. It’s also super cute that George Lucas got the idea for Chewbacca from his dog who would always be his co pilot when he drove.

As a first time watcher I was super excited to see what all the hub bub had been about. And generally movies that make hundreds of millions of dollars aren’t terrible. I was thoroughly entertained the entire time, although I couldn’t help but wonder how Harrison Ford could understand Chewbacca but no one else could. But that’s neither here nor there. But by the end of this movie, I really wanted to watch the next one (I mean a it’s like %70 because of Harrison Ford). I personally thought the effect were amazing, and the story had an incredibly amount of heart, and what’s better than that?

Rating: 5 out of 5 times Harrison Ford looked ah-mazing

Leave a Reply

