The Graduate

Graduateposter67

I personally love when I haven’t seen a movie for a while, and then I watch it again and I remember how fantastic it is. I mean I loved The Graduate before, but now I’m just frankly amazed at how good it is.

So basically, The Graduate is about recent graduate Benjamin Braddock (played by Dustin Hoffman) who starts having an affair with Mrs. Robinson (Anne Bancroft) , the wife of a family friend. But oh snap Benjamin totally starts to fall for her daughter Elaine (played by Katharine Ross). And then the whole thing is set to Simon and Garfunkel music, it’s pretty amazing.

When I was younger my family would make the voyage to wilderness that is upstate New York for Thanksgiving. We would usually arrive pretty late at night, and the country roads were always pitch black. Because we weren’t exactly sure what kind of radio stations we would hear in upstate New York we would always play Simon and Garfunkel. And because it was dark I would always fall asleep, so now whenever I listen to Simon and Garfunkel I always get tired (fun fact!). So obviously watching The Graduate should put me right to sleep, but the movie is so captivating the thought of sleep doesn’t even cross my mind.

And if Simon and Garfunkel aren’t enough motivation to watch The Graduate, I should definitely mention the fact that Mr. Feeny from Boy Meets World was in it. Before rocking the sweaters, and before living next door to the Matthews he looked like this

The Graduate - William Daniels 008

It cute because his voice sounds exactly the same.

Obviously if Dustin Hoffman had known that Mr. Feeny was his father, he would have taken his advice more seriously.

This movie pretty much marks the beginning of my love for Dustin Hoffman, he just looks so adorable. And it’s super funny because when he went in to audition for the role (keep in mind that Robert Redford was considered for the part) they thought he was a messenger boy. Hoffman took one look at his costar Katharine Ross, and thought a girl like that wouldn’t go for a guy like me in a million years. False.

Turns out Audrey Hepburn wanted the role of Mrs. Robinson (I don’t understand why she wasn’t Mrs. Robinson, because if Audrey Hepburn wants something, you give it to her). But it was given to Bancroft who is actually Mel Brooks wife! (It makes the lack of Hepburn a little bit more bearable). Apparently Brooks was a little weary during filming and kept a close eye on Hoffman. Even though Ben and Mrs. Robinson were supposed to have a twenty year age difference, Bancroft was only 6 years older than Hoffman.

Oh and also, the Simon and Garfunkel song “Mrs. Robinson” was originally about Mrs. Roosevelt, but the producers thought the song would be perfect for the movie, so it was changed. So many fun facts so little time.

Despite the rather scandalous relationship, it really is quite a wonderful movie with a great romantic relationship. And the ending is pretty wonderful too. The whole thing is great, I mean it’s considered a classic for a reason right?

Rating: 5 out of 5 times the song “Sound of Silence” was used and I immediately thought of

Leave a Reply

