It’s A Wonderful Life

Its_A_Wonderful_Life_Movie_Poster

This movie marks the beginning of my love for James Stewart, it’s pretty much a milestone of my life. It’s A Wonderful Life also gives me a huge movie high. In case you have not experienced a movie high I feel super bad for you, because it’s a whole day realizing how amazing movies are, and realizing how two hours of your life can make you so incredibly happy, and then you don’t want to do anything except watch amazing movies all the time. It’s awesome, and a totally legal way to get high, so win win.

So basically, It’s A Wonderful Life is about the life of George Bailey (played by James Stewart), a man who desperately wants to see the world, but remains stuck in his home town. And then eventually he realizes that he is worth more dead than alive and he wants to commit suicide as does the whole “everyone would be so much better off if I was never born thing”, but Its a Wonderful Life was the first one to do it, so that makes it okay.

In case you don’t read Jimmy Stewart’s biography (which I totally don’t do either), the director of It’s a Wonderful Life, Frank Capra also directed Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (also starring Jimmy Stewart) which came out a few years earlier. And because I am occasionally observant, I believe I noticed a reference to Mr. Smith Goes to Washington.

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 10.51.09 PM

That newspaper is totally talking about Jimmy Stewart’s Mr. Smith, I don’t care how common that name is.

Not only is this movie an incredibly inspirational film, but it’s a romance, an incredibly one too. The only thing more adorable than Jimmy Stewart, is Jimmy Stewart falling in love. And I can’t even be angry at the wife for marrying him, because she has actually loved him since she was like five, she clearly know how to pick them, and I am insanely jealous of her. And they actually have the perfect relationship, they have the whole childhood sweethearts thing, then the amazing love at first sight, the adorable flirting, and then insane sexual tension. It’s almost not fair. I might just have to put my absolute favorite scene from this movie

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=De-vkmIFKNA

let’s just pretend that I don’t have a quote from this movie hanging on my wall, and that I have a normal appreciation for It’s a Wonderful Life.

And just in case that wasn’t enough to create a need to see this movie, James Stewart dances like this

wonderful-life-o

he knew the cool dance moves, before they were cool. I mean it’s almost as amazing as Leo’s

35c6b4251b94f0d7_leo_dance_1_.xxxlarge

Clearly everyone loves It’s a Wonderful Life as much as I do, because the two cops in the movie are named Bert and Ernie. You know, like the most famous muppet duo of all time? Sesame Street claims its coincidence. Is it Sesame Street? Is it really?

It’s a Wonderful Life clearly had a huge influence on culture, and and the risk of sounding ridiculous it has a huge influence on your hope. Every time I watch this movie I instantaneously feel better. It’s magic.

Rating: 5 out of 5 times I sobbed tears of joy with no shame

Leave a Reply

