Chinatown

Chinatownposter1

I really don’t know how to react when Jack Nicholson looks anything but insanely creepy, but it keeps happening, so much so that this interaction is starting to make sense.

Jennifer-Lawrence-And-Jack-Nicholson-Being-Awesome

Anyway, Chinatown is like a more recent film noir, Jack Nicholson plays detective Jake Gittes, who is trying to solve the murder of the husband of the femme fatale (played by Faye Dunaway). Then because it’s film noir there are a bunch of crazy twists and turns and dramatic lighting and snappy dialogue.

Faye Dunaway was a great femme fatale, she had the whole mysterious can’t trust her sort of thing. Mixed with some finger curls and she was pretty much all set. Except for her eyebrows, I am so happy that those pencil thin eyebrows and not a thing anymore. Personally, I though Jack Nicholson’s eyebrows looked better, and they are basically triangles.

img_6026

Chinatown was an excellent representation of the whole film noir era, but with some crazy R rated aspects that you definitely couldn’t have in the 1940’s. I don’t think movie audiences even knew that actresses had boobs in the 40’s, but you sure as hell know in this movie. And I highly doubt the word incest was even uttered, never mind an integral part of the plot. While the classic film noir was a big fan of the whole shot and keel over without a drop of blood thing, Chinatown is pretty darn violent when it wants to be, the whole cutting the nose thing was not so cute.

I mean the movie was really good. Nicholson was amazing, and apparently the movie launched his career, so now I have someone to blame for my Nicholson fueled nightmares. I mean the whole thing was just really well done. But at the end of the movie I felt unsatisfied, and I realized it was because I didn’t think justice had been served. And then I felt super righteous.

Chinatown is definitely a hell of a lot darker than Maltese Falcon and Double Indemnity, but it still has that whole scotch swigging sexiness thing going for it, which is saying a lot considering the fact that I am super scared of Jack Nicholson.

Rating: 4 out of 5 super cool Jack Nicholson old school detective tricks

Leave a Reply

