The Grapes of Wrath

Wrathposters141

Everything I learned about Grapes of Wrath I learned from Boy Meets World, which is actually an excellent way to learn about life. For example, if I don’t meet the love of my life when I was 5, I will pretty much die alone, thank you Boy Meets World for preparing me. But it terms of Grapes of Wrath I was able to gather that the book was about unions, and the unfair management they had to face. And they said TV had no educational value.

So basically, The Grapes of Wrath, is about Tom Joad (played by Henry Fonda), and his family’s search for good work across the country. Based on the title I just kind of assumed that they would be picking grapes, turns out no, and I should really stop taking movie titles so literally. I also thought that the entire movie would deal with unions and getting fair wages and all that, (based on Boy Meets World of course) but that really didn’t come in until the very end of the movie.

You know how the first Lord of the Rings movie is basically just the whole gang traveling to get to Mordor, so they walk, then fight then walk some more. I kind of felt that way about this movie. It was basically them traveling to California, try to find a job, family member dies, travel to the next job, someone dies. And I mean there is nothing wrong with that, it’s just not what I was expecting. 

I’m assuming that the film’s goal was to show the horrors of the work environment in the early 1900’s, which it totally did, but I didn’t see anyone doing anything about it. The Joad family just keep moving on, trying to find work, and then moving onto the next job. I assumed with the whole “I’ll be there” speech Henry Fonda creates like this huge strike and it’s super intense, but no he tells it to his mom in the dead of night. I don’t know, maybe I was underwhelmed by the movie.

I mean the acting was good, and it definitely showed the horrors of pre-union working, but I think I was expecting more to happen in the movie, and felt unsatisfied at the end.

Rating: 3 out of 5 times they picked fruit that wasn’t grapes and I was sufficiently perplexed.

Leave a Reply

