The Godfather Part II

Godfather_part_ii

I feel completely un-American in saying that I have not seen The Godfather, but it’s true. But I totally planned on watching it a while a go. It was supposed to be a whole Godfather themed party, my friends and I made pasta and sauce, and just as we were about to start the movie and Girls marathon seemed more appealing. What can you do? And then I was super worried that I wouldn’t be able to watch The Godfather: Part II without seeing the first one, and then I would be watching the movies out of order, and I really had quite the moral dilemma. However my friend assured me that I could indeed watch the second film first, as long as I didn’t mind a few spoilers, but I personally love spoilers, so I was all for it.

So in case you are un-American like me, The Godfather: Part II depicts two narratives, the first is Michael Corleone (played by Al Pacino) as he new role and Don of the Corleone family. The second is about his father, Vito Corleone (played by Robert De Niro) as his rise to power in the New York City mafia world.

I am totally fine with actors speaking another language in a movie, like alright say your two sentences with a lot of hand motions, then show me something that drives home your point. So I assumed that is what would happen in the movie when Robert De Niro starts spewing out his Italian. But then the Italian scenes got longer, and I had no idea what was happening, then I thought maybe Francis Ford Coppola wanted to have, I don’t know, I more “authentic” Italian experience. But I just couldn’t take it anymore, and realized that I could easily turn on the English subtitles and proceeded to feel incredibly stupid. So if anyone else watches The Godfather Part II, know that you can indeed watch it with subtitles.

It’s slightly upsetting that every mob makes you want to be a member of the mob super badly. I mean Robert De Niro seems to be having the time of his life, getting respect, making money, eating delicious Italian food. I’m just going to assume that it didn’t work out to well for him in The Godfather because Marlon Brando is not in the sequel, but at least he had a good run.

And not only was Robert De Niro absolutely amazing in this movie (because he is annoyingly good in every movie, and he should really stop) but Al Pacino was crazy excellent. I’m not sure if this has been a predetermined thing that everyone knows, but he looks incredibly similar to Dustin Hoffman, or maybe no one else thinks that, and I just love Dustin Hoffman too much

Young-al-pacino-photo

url

I was personally really excited to see the Fredo kiss in the movie because now I can fully appreciate this reference

and not feel like a poser when I use the Fredo kiss in my everyday life (which everyone obviously does)

It’s not difficult to understand why everyone loves this movie, it has unbelievable acting (the Diane Keaton scene, hot damn) and makes you love your family even more (or maybe hate them more? not sure), and it has Robert De Niro and Al Pacino, and what more do you need.

Rating: 5 out of 5 confused expressions when I learned that Al Pacino did not win the Best Actor Academy Award for this role

Leave a Reply

