One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

One_Flew_Over_the_Cuckoo's_Nest_poster

So one of my biggest fears is mental illness. There is nothing more terrifying to me than the possibility of developing a mental illness in my early twenties. Oh and then thinking about lobotomies simultaneously makes me want to pass out and cry. So basically One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest was scarier than Silence of the Lambs could ever be.

So basically, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest is about Mac Murphy (played by Jack Nicholson) an anti-authority criminal who is sent to a mental health facility for evaluation. Though Murphy is not mental disabled he believes residing in a mental hospital will be a lot easy then serving out his sentence in jail. While in the mental hospital he bonds with the other mental patients and tries to rally against Nurse Ratchet (I’m assuming this is where all college and high school girls picked up the term ratchet).

I personally think that Jack Nicholson is incredibly creepy looking, so I was very confused when he looked somewhat attractive in this movie. I mean I had always assumed that he was just born that way, creepy voice and all. But apparently at one point, he looked like this

Jack_Nicholson_1816468c

But that was an extremely long time ago, so long that Doc from Back to the Future looked like this

108

and Danny DeVito looked like this

???????????????????????????????

I am always incredibly amazed when someone can act as if they have a mental illness. I don’t mean like Adam Sandler in Waterboy mental illness, but Dustin Hoffman Rain Man. I really just can’t wrap my head around doing something like. So I was incredibly impressed throughout the entire movie. And while the acting was phenomenal, the story was incredible too, you got the whole resilient human spirit thing going on with crazy upsetting moments. I mean it really is a fantastic movie.

And then there is the incredibly cute patient with a stutter, and your heart breaks whenever he opens he mouth, and all you really want to do is give him and hug, and punch that Nurse Ratchet in the face, hard.

As stated before I am really not the biggest fan of Jack Nicholson, but it this movie, I totally would. Like the movie, he is incredibly charming while simultaneously breaking and warming my heart.

Rating: 5 out of 5 I was surprisingly attracted to Jack Nicholson

 

Leave a Reply

