Bonnie and Clyde

Bonnie_and_Clyde

So I am not really a big fan of the whole shoot em up thing, but damn do Bonnie and Clyde make it look good. I’m not sure if it’s a problem that I considered bank robbery as a career while watching this movie. I mean it would have to be in the 1920’s or 30’s and Warren Beatty would have to do it with me, otherwise it would just be wrong.

So Bonnie and Clyde is a movie about real life crime duo Bonnie Parker (played by Fay Dunaway) and Clyde Barrow (played by Warren Beatty) and they rob banks. The film goes through their initial meeting to their capture (is it really a spoiler if this is the only way the movie could end?). And while the whole running from the law thing is the main plot of the movie, I think the real driving force is the relationship between Bonnie and Clyde, let’s be honest, who wouldn’t want to leave their small town and run away with an incredibly attractive rebel without a cause? Am I right? (I really hope otherwise I should probably do some serious self evaluation)

And even though Bonnie spends half the movie super pissy, I can totally understand why. It turns out Clyde has like zero sex drive, this would have been something nice to know before a person runs off with you (And no “I told you I wasn’t lover boy does not suffice Clyde). You have this incredibly attractive bank robbing guy, who can shoot a man without thinking twice, but can’t close with a girl? Poor Bonnie.

Then she has to deal with the completely annoying wife of Clyde’s brother. Who is totally the Roseanne’s grandmother from Roseanne, see!
estelle-parsons-signed-bonnie-and-clyde-8x10-wcoa4_f561e66f738edbcbec09b677007e1b6c

She actually spends her entire time on camera screaming, or being flat out irritating. Apparently the woman that the character was based off of did not like her portrayal in the film, and you know if I was shown as a screaming bitch I wouldn’t like it either.

Not only did this movie have an incredibly attractive Warren Beatty, but it had Gene Wilder! Seriously who doesn’t love Gene Wilder? And I’m not talking that whole Willy Wonka thing, I’m talking about the whole Young Frankenstein and Blazing Saddles Gene Wilder, who is actually amazing. And Bonnie and Clyde was his first role in a movie, as a somewhat timid kidnap-e of Bonnie and Clyde

images

He actually always looks adorable.

This movie was also one of the first movies to use “squibs” which is like packets of fake blood in a actors clothes, so that when they get shot they pop, and it actually looks like they have been shot. So the shootings looks hell-a more realistic, which worked, because this movie had an obsessive amount of shooting (I don’t understand the need to shoot one person twenty times, one bullet usually does the job).

Besides the crazy screaming woman, I really liked the movie. With the clothes, and attractive men, and the whole kind of sexy aspect of bank robbing. And the cinematography was really interesting, so good for you Bonnie and Clyde!

Rating: 5 out of 5 fabulously 30’s outfits

Leave a Reply

