Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring

The_Fellowship_Of_The_Ring

So if your like me, and don’t know what The Lord of the Rings is about, it is basically a story of a fantasy world and an all powerful ring that was created by some crazy evil guy, the evil guy eventually lost the ring, but the ring always wants to return to him, and corrupts anyone who owns the ring, it eventually lands in the hands of a Hobbit (a super cute and shot person) who goes on an adventure with some comrades to destroy the ring.

My first thought in the movie was that the little wrinkly guy who used to own the ring is hell-a creepy and I really don’t appreciate his voice, and I would really appreciate it if they never talked about him again. I would post a picture but I don’t want to be scared of Google Images. My second thought was that I would make a super awesome Hobbit. They are the most adorable people ever who just love to have fun and eat (second breakfast is a great idea, and I’m super sad that I’m just learning about it now), and I can totally do that!

I’m not even going to pretend that I remember half the names of the characters, I know Frodo (the Hobbit played by Elijah Wood) and Gandalf the Grey (because they actually say his name a million times). Otherwise I refer to them as (top row from left to right) the guy that is dating Liv Tyler, Gandalf the Grey (nailed it!), Orlando Bloom, and Ned Stark from Game of Thrones. (In the bottom row left to right) Sam (because why not have one crazy simple name), Frodo, Charlie from Lost, the other Hobbit, and the angry bearded man.

aaqThe one thing that I really don’t understand about the movie was the fact that all these characters had crazy complicated names, and the locations had these crazy names, I mean an entirely new language was invented, but yet the super evil mountain is called “The Mountain of Doom”, was the mountain name just too much? I guess you have to draw the line some where.

Now I didn’t understand a few in things in the movie (but the previous statement was the one I was really baffled by), but why did Gandalf have to die? I mean he was chilling on that ledge for a good few seconds, definitely enough time for someone to go help him. Like I understand holding Frodo back because he is so little and important, but what about the people who were just staring at him? Especially since Gandalf was so beloved, I don’t understand why no one would at least try to save him, but whatever.

So this movie is actually not very well liked in my family (which was probably the reason I hadn’t seen it before), it was described to me as walking in the woods for three hours. And to a point it is, but obviously there are a million other messages about power and friendship and all that important stuff, which I thing makes the film endearing, and more than just a bunch of people of various sizes walking through the woods. I mean I would like to watch the other two, I’m just not sure if I have the necessary time available.

Rating: 4 out of 5 crazy adorable Hobbits

 

 

Leave a Reply

