M*A*S*H

MASHfilmposter

So this just happens to be my father’s favorite movie, and my dad doesn’t have a lot of favorites, so that was quite a bit of pressure on M*A*S*H. I actually watched a few episodes while learning about the Korean War in school (because how else am I supposed to learn?), so I had a general idea of what was going on. And I was pretty sure that a movie inspiring an eleven season TV show (longer than the actual Korean War) couldn’t be terrible.

So basically, M*A*S*H is a satire about a group of medical professionals in the Mobile Army Surgical Hospital during the Korean War. It centers mainly around two womanizing surgeons named Hawkeye (played by Donald Sutherland) and Trapper John (played by Elliot Gould). I was personally thrilled that Mr. Bennet from Pride and Prejudice (I’m sure he was in plenty of other movies, but he is always going to be Mr. Bennet playing someone else) was in this movie, and Mr. Geller from Friends (nope always going to be Ross’ dad). While they looked very nice in uniform, I particularly loved Gould’s moustache

images

He rocked it.

I am not one of those hard core feminists, I don’t think mailman needs to be called a mailperson and I am perfectly fine shaving my legs even if men don’t, but this movie was less than kind towards women. All of the women shown in the film were either used for sex, or shown as a bitch. I’m sure that everyone was just broing out in the army in the 1970’s, but can’t you just have one somewhat awesome female character. The only “strong” female character was hated by everyone. Another woman was used to “ungay” a dentist, I’m sure she is really intelligent and can contribute a lot more than just her body. I’m totally fine with a movie about guys being guys, but if women are in the movie, can’t they have more to offer?

That being said, the movie was quite funny, the jokes were witty and it was incredibly entertaining. It’s easy to see the reasons that the film became a TV show, the film basically felt like a few episodes of TV show strung together, and being a huge advocate of television, I really appreciated that. This was also the first major motion picture to contain the word fuck in the dialogue. Honestly, Sutherland and Gould did an amazing job, and the movie was good, I just wouldn’t want to be a woman in M*A*S*H.

Rating: 4 out of 5 times Sutherland slipped into his British accent

Leave a Reply

