Rocky

215px-Rocky_poster

I am sorry to say that I have never seen Rocky before, I mean I obviously know about the whole running up the steps in Philly and the boxing, but that doesn’t exactly rush me to the only DVD rental store within 20 miles. Now if they had mentioned the completely endearing romantic aspect of the movie, I would have already seen in five times over. I am the female movie stereotype, and I am not ashamed of it.

So basically, Rocky is about a fighter named Rocky (played by Sylvester Stallone), who gets the opportunity of a life time to face Apollo Creed (who is supposed to be like Muhammad Ali)  in a nationally televised fight. I was extremely surprised by Rocky’s character, I figured a fighter would be all tough and angry, but he was actually the sweetest person ever. He has these adorable turtles that he loves, and is pretty much the most awesome date ever.

He never gives up the extremely shy Adrian, who every one else has already written off. Adrian is very She’s All That pretty (which is when an “unattractive” girl becomes ridiculously more attractive when she takes of her glasses and fixes he hair), but Rocky gives her so much confidence and treats her so well. I actually can’t get over it.  I’m serious this is one of the most adorable movie couples ever. 

Adrian’s brother (who is also Rocky’s best friend), actually sucks though. He asks Rocky why he is going out with his loser sister, and I’m wondering why Rocky is friends with her loser brother. Who drinks before noon, and gets upset when he doesn’t receive monetary benefits from his friends success. Rocky needs to break up with him.

 

I had no idea that Sylvester Stallone wrote this movie and I am crazy impressed. Then I learned that he wrote the next five sequels and I was slightly less impressed. But still, this movie won the Academy Award for Best Picture, and I really think it deserved it. The movie was so inspiring, it actually made me want to go run up the steps of  the Philadelphia Museum of Art, except I don’t live in Philadelphia and eating ice cream sounds like a lot more fun. I really didn’t expect to like this movie, but now I really want to see it again, except the part where they cut his eye lid, that was gross.

Rating: 5 out of 5 Italian Stallions

Leave a Reply

