The Gold Rush

220px-Goldrush2

So I was under the impression that the Gold Rush took place in California, but apparently one also happened in Alaska, I really don’t even know why I bother reading textbooks when everything I need to know can be found in movies. Thanks Charlie Chaplin.

If the title doesn’t give it away, The Gold Rush, is a silent Charlie Chaplin movie about the Tramp’s experiences during the Gold Rush in Alaska. I was personally astonished that the Tramp could rock his classic attire while everyone is freezing in their humorously big fur coats. He even lost his shoe half way through the movie, that shit definitely should have gotten some frost bite.

The first half of the movie is pretty much set in a dilapidated wood cabin with only one room. I would like to think I don’t have a short attention span. I could do the whole 12 Angry Men thing in one room, but without dialogue, I couldn’t help but get a little distracted, and was really hoping the house would blow away.

Luckily the Tramp moved on to a local town, and how convenient that there was a beautiful girl there. To bad that I actually hated her. First she totally rejected the womanizer in town, which I can totally understand. But then she totally blows off the Tramp (who she was totally leading on) and says that she is in love with the womanizer. What is that? She deserves no happy ending, and should freeze in Alaska. I don’t understand how you could be so mean to a man with such a cute hat.

Especially when he does something as adorable as a roll dance. It’s pretty much the most adorable thing in cinema. And then to make it even better, it was referenced in the movies Chaplin, and Benny and Joon, and Johnny Depp and Robert Downy Jr. performed the adorable routine, I don’t think it could get any better, except if proof was right here, oh wait

So while the movie was enjoyable, I liked Modern Times better. I don’t know I think it had more to say than this film, and I personally found it more interesting, and the love interest didn’t suck so hard.

Rating: 4 out of 5 roll dances

Leave a Reply

