Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

tumblr_inline_miyocrM4m51qz4rgp

So this was my first Burton and Taylor movie. I personally love it when real life couples are love interests in movie. It’s like 75% of why I keep such close tabs on celebrity news. If I was like 60 years older I would have eaten their relationship up. I guess I will just have to reminisce about the whole Brad and Angelina scandal. See normally when a couple is on screen together the movie is really happy and adorable ’cause you know they love each other and imagine their relationship to be that way in real life, like a Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn movie. But there was no happy ending, and far more alcohol than admiration, that really should have been the couples first clue that it wasn’t going to work out.

Who’s Afriad of Virginia Woolf? was based off of a play, and surprisingly, had nothing to do with Virginia Woolf. It centers around an married couple in a less than stable relationship, who invite a younger couple over for a drink. The whole play is basically a couple being passively and not so passively aggressive with each other. It made me extremely uncomfortable, so I can’t imagine how the other couple must have felt.

I thought The Breakfast Club had a small cast, but this movie was actually ridiculous. You have the four main characters, and two other people who maybe say one line. If it didn’t star Burton and Taylor a lemonade stand could cover the costs.

So while the main older couple is getting progressively more unpleasant, the young wife gets completely white girl wasted after like two drinks, talk about a cheap date. And Elizabeth Taylor is clearly flirting with her husband, and her husband is totally egging her on, I don’t understand the quantity of alcohol you have to consume to make that okay. I also don’t understand why the younger couple didn’t just leave. Burton and Taylor made them uncomfortable within seconds of their arrival, I would have peaced out before they could even pour me a drink. But then I guess that wouldn’t make for a very interesting play.

Fun fact! This movie was actually nominated for all thirteen categories at the Academy Awards, and it’s easy to see why. Even though the movie was hell-a depressing, it was fabulously acted and filmed. It just made me never want to get married, but apparently it had the opposite effect Taylor.

Overall I liked the movie, didn’t love it, but that could be a result of the fact that all my hopes of marriage were crushed in a little over two hours. But now I know that  if Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton ever invite me to a drink at their home, I shouldn’t go.

Rating: 4 out of 5 glasses of brandy

Leave a Reply

