A Clockwork Orange

Clockwork_orangeA

So I am super excited for the next movie that doesn’t involve murder. After a week of watching Silence of the Lambs, Shawshank Redemption, and Saving Private RyanI would have really appreciated taking a little break from raping and murdering, but alas here comes A Clockwork Orange, which shows both quite explicitly. Someone told me that the movie was utterly traumatizing, and that I should watch during the day surrounded by people. So obviously I watched it at night, by myself, and to my surprise I concluded the film only feeling mildly frightened. And though the first half hour of the film is pretty gruesome, the rest of the movie is fairly easy to digest.

So basically the movie is about a teenager named Alex, and Alex goes around with his little posse participating in “ultra violence”, which includes beating men and raping women. This is where the crazy explicit scenes come in, I mean it’s pretty horrible to watch some pretty twisted people enjoy devastating the lives of completely innocent people. Like the graphic rape scene, where the lead character sings “Singin’ in the Rain” while beating and raping a husband and wife, is not exactly for the faint of heart. Fortunately that is the last time the characters participate in such a horrible event.

While imdb-ing the film I could not believe that this guy plays the lead character:

MV5BMTcxMjQxNzczM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTg3MTMwNw@@._V1._SY314_CR5,0,214,314_

I mean obviously he is a lot younger in A Clockwork Orange, but seriously? Sloan’s dad from Entourage? That professor in the last season of Community? The principal in Easy A? I just couldn’t believe it was the same person.

Ew and then later in the film they put the main character, Alex, in this chair and made him watch violent films, and they propped his eyes open with these clips. Now I am personally extremely squimish about eye stuff, I once passed out as someone described their lasik eye surgery, so that whole scene where they are trying to attach the things on his eye lids flipped me out.

But after the whole traumatic scene in the beginning and excluding the whole eye thing, the film was entertaining. I mean it was acted well, and occasionally funny. The main character was interesting if not extremely messed up. I can see why it was such a sensation, but definitely do not feel the need to watch it again.

I did not realize until after watching the film that it was X rated, which made me feel like a complete badass. And the amount of boobs this movie had, I think it made Sex and the City and Game of Thrones blush. I also learned that the film was a cult classic, which I kind of assumed while watching the movie. It really does have cult classic written all over it, but I’m gonna be completely honest, if I met anyone who said this was their absolute favorite movie, I would judge them a little bit, I mean how can you not? think I’m done being traumatized for while, I’m just hoping that Dustin Hoffman doesn’t look too threatening in drag in Tootsie.

Rating: 3 out of 5 boobs

Leave a Reply

