The Shawshank Redemption

MV5BMTc3NjM4MTY3MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODk4Mzg3OA@@._V1_SY317_CR4,0,214,317_

So I have seen The Shawshank Redemption quite few times,which is beneficial because then I can check my phone during the scenes that I would much rather not see again. And despite the amount of times I have seen the movie, I always feel so inspired when it’s over. Like look at these murderer’s! Changing their lives and trying to make the world a better place, it almost make you think that you should go to prison to become a better person, but the food didn’t look that great, so I guess I will just become a better person in a different way.

In case you don’t know, The Shawshank Redemption is about a man named Andy Dufresne (played by Tim Robbins), who is convicted of murder and has a life sentence in a prison called Shawshank (hence the title of the movie). There he becomes friends with a fellow inmate named Red (played by the wonderfully voiced Morgan Freeman), and attempts to keep his freedom in prison. Obviously they have a group of rag tag friends you can’t hope but root for, until about half way through the movie when you realize that they are all murderers. But they could all totally be innocent! I mean they seem super nice in jail.

It’s really hard to have a terrible movie with Morgan Freeman (except if it’s Evan Almighty). All you need is Freeman spewing out inspirational dialogue left and right, and you pretty much have an amazing movie. And you really can’t help but rejoice when he is reunited with his best friend to run a bed and breakfast in Mexico, which sounds crazy cheesy, and makes you think that they may be a little more than just friends, but it’s so amazingly inspirational that it doesn’t even matter.

This movie is almost annoyingly uplifting, and it totally invalidates all excuses to do anything. Like you got a parking ticket? Oh well Tim Robbins crawled through 500 yards of shit to have the right to get a parking ticket. And the movie just fit in so perfectly to my prison themed day. And after watching a few hours of Orange is the New Black and The Shawshank Redemption I can safely say I would not survive in prison, well maybe I would if Morgan Freeman was there to inspire me.

Rating: 5 out of 5 annoying inspiring characters

Leave a Reply

