The Silence of the Lambs

The_Silence_of_the_Lambs_poster

So usually my tolerance for gore is directly proportional to amount of Game of Thrones I have watched, but unfortunately, the season ended weeks ago, leaving me afraid of everything from guns to scissors. To say my viewing of The Silence of the Lambs was ill timed would be an understatement. Watching alone at night was probably not the best plan either. But at least I was able to expand my repertoire of methods of hiding my eyes, so there’s that.

If you hide your eyes every time someone pops out a switch blade like I do, you probably have not seen this movie. So basically it’s about an FBI trainee named Clarice Starling (played by Jodie Foster), as she attempts to catch a murderer who skins his victims (it’s crazy gross). To help find the killer she needs the help of Dr. Hannibal Lecter (played by Anthony Hopkins).

Now I understand that they want to send some young hot thing to talk to the creepy cannibal in jail, but wouldn’t it be beneficial to give her a little more experience? I mean I’m sure the rapid fire advice given to her on the way to see the man was helpful, but shouldn’t she have a least a little experience dealing with a psychopath? I mean good for Jodie Foster for talking to a guy who wants to eat her liver, but I’m sure she wouldn’t have minded a bit more training, she is a trainee after all.

So apparently there’s some controversy about how long Anthony Hopkins was on the screen. Wikipedia says it was less 16 minutes, which is actually ridiculous that you can win an Oscar and make such an impact in only 16 minutes (maybe Leo should try that). But when I tried to time it I ended up with 26 minutes. Although my timing was less than precise because it was really hard to hide my eyes and time a scene at the same time. But that is still less than a quarter of the time of the film, and he is the first think you think of when you hear The Silence of the Lambs, so kudos to you Mr. Hopkins.

This movie has also stopped me from becoming a nice person. The poor girl that got kidnapped was only trying to do a nice thing, and boom she gets put in a well. That will teach her never to help someone move a couch into the back of their van. Sure I might end up being a huge bitch, but at least I’ll be alive.

Yes the acting was amazing, and yes the movie was interesting and complex, but I was terrified the entire time. The amount of Arrested Development I had to watch after the movie to even have a hope of going to sleep was ridiculous. So thank you Silence of the Lambs for reminding me why I can’t watch movies like The Silence of the Lambs.

Rating: 4 out of 5 scenes I watched between my fingers

Leave a Reply

