All the President’s Men

all-the-presidents-men-DVD-cover

In my senior year of high school I took a class that taught history through film, which was basically how I learned about history anyway. Unfortunately I did not realize which parts of history would be covered, and ended up watching nothing but genocide movies for a month. After watching Schindler’s List I happy to learn that we would study the Watergate Scandal next, and although All the President’s Men is not nearly as emotional as Hotel Rwanda, it  saved me about fifteen dollars worth of ice cream, and I got to look at a young Dustin Hoffman and Robert Redford for two hours, so I would say I was winning all around.

For those who don’t know, All the President’s Men is about Washington Post journalists, Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein, as they investigate the Watergate Scandal. I’m ashamed to say I really didn’t know what the Watergate Scandal was, I knew it happened during Nixon’s presidency, and was not about some sort of damn fiasco, but other than that, I was pretty lost. So thank you Hoffman and Redford, for educating as well as entertaining me.

This movie is pretty much a visual textbook, and if Hoffman and Redford weren’t staring in it, it would be far less entertaining. I mean the outfits and hair is funny, but that can only get you so far. Obviously the story is interesting, but it’s a lot of slamming doors and typing while they try to confirm information. But it is also crazy impressive that they made the film only two years after the non fiction book of the same name was published. How Zero Dark Thirty of them.

I was super excited and slightly surprised to know that William Goldman wrote the screenplay. It’s crazy to think that the same person wrote Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, The Princess Bride, and All the President’s Men. At least you can’t say he’s pigeon holed.

I’m sure the actual Bernstein and Woodward were super flattered to have Dustin Hoffman and Robert Redford play them in a movie. About half way through the movie I couldn’t help but wonder if they looked anything like Redford and Hoffman. And they kinda do, if you squint your eyes, or maybe just close them.

carl_bernstein_e_bob_woodward_watergateAll_the_Presidents_Men

Just look at Hoffman’s fabulously feathered hair.

All in all I found it more informational than interesting.

Rating: 3 out of 5 fantastically feathered hairdos.

Leave a Reply

