The Wild Bunch

images

Whenever I hear of the movie The Wild Bunch, I immediately think of the second episode of the show Gossip Girl titled “The Wild Brunch” as I am sure everyone does. Strangely enough, the movie did not involve a group of scheming and fabulously dressed high school students, but a posse of aging cowboys. And to be honest I would take the Upper East Side any day.

I always feel like I need to apologize to a movie when I don’t like it. I feel absolutely terrible, I mean obviously a lot of work and money has gone into these films, and here I am checking to see how much longer I have to sit through the movie. And if it’s on the list of the best movies of all time, a lot of people must have really liked it, and I just couldn’t get into it. It could be the fact that I just don’t like westerns. I mean I like some westerns, like Django Unchained or Butch Cassidy and Sundance Kid, but watching grown men riding horses and playing shoot em up is just not my jam. And I’m sorry to anyone who loves westerns, but I’m sure the people who love westerns aren’t a big fan of romantic comedies, so I think it’s even.

Any who, The Wild Bunchis about a group of thieves who decide to do one more take before retirement. The group is led by a man named Pike, played by William Holden. However, the posse is on the run from a group of bounty hunters led by a man named Deke, who used to be Holden’s partner in crime, but was caught and sentenced to jail. However Deke was released under the pretense that he would capture Holden and his posse.

So for about the first twenty minutes of the movie I had absolutely no idea what was going on. The thieves were wearing the uniforms of the army, and I didn’t understand if they were fighting against innocent civilians, or the men who just looked like innocent civilians. And I then I spent the rest of the movie trying to figure out who I should root for. Holden and his group didn’t seem that cool, I mean one of them shot his ex girlfriend after an argument in a Mexican town. I don’t speak Spanish, but I doubt their is really anything you could say that makes you deserving of death, little over dramatic there. And Deke’s group really wasn’t shown enough to get personally attached, even though he did have a super cool moustache. The only people left were the Mexicans, who seemed to be extremely morally loose and pretty ridiculous.

I mean the shoot-out scenes were intense and all, but half way through the shoot-outs, I would forget what even started it in the first place. Oh and I really didn’t appreciate the unnecessary boob shots, a movie can in fact be rated R, and not show boobs. Though I didn’t really like it, I could see how someone could appreciate it, I don’t know, maybe it was to wild for me.

Rating: 2 out of 5 unnecessary boob shots

Leave a Reply

