Easy Rider

EasyRider

I am not exactly the biggest fan of motorcycle movies. Having nothing to compare them to except Wild Hogs doesn’t really help the cause either. So needless to say, I was not exactly looking forward to watching Easy Rider, a movie about two guys with long hair riding motorcycles through the south in the 1970’s. I mean Peter Fonda is plenty attractive, but could the pretty face and luscious locks carry me through the entire movie? Apparently not. Though it was way better than John Travolta on a motorcycle, watching Easy Rider was harder than it should have been.

Perhaps one of the most impressive aspects of the movie was this man’s facial hair.

easy_rider_1

That is one stellar stache.

I was also fairly impressed that the two main characters could wear the same clothes for a week and stand the smell. Especially with Peter Fonda rocking the leather pants like it’s his job.

Now the whole premise of the movie I could totally get behind, two guys hitting the open road, exploring the south. Honestly be my guest, it was just some of the execution I didn’t understand. Now I could be a complete snob for saying this, but the transitions really annoyed me, flashing in between the previous scene and the next.

But I was absolutely amazed when I realized Jack Nicholson was is this movie. Honestly I didn’t even recognize him for a solid 15 minutes. It was probably because he looked fairly attractive and extremely not creepy, and had no idea Jack Nicholson could resemble anything like that. Seriously just take a look.

easyrider3

The movie was perfectly fine until the two main characters decided they needed to take acid with some prostitues in a cemetery. I mean do what you want to do, but don’t show it as a 10 minute collection of shots of three people having an okay time, and another having a horrible trip, I just wasn’t a fan of the ending as a whole. I don’t know, maybe I just didn’t get it. It’s hard to fathom a time where having long hair and riding a motorcycle was a cause for such intense prejudice. And while some parts were interesting, and others were devastating, I just couldn’t go along for the ride.

Rating: 2 out of 5 impressive moustaches

Leave a Reply

