Platoon

platoon-movie-poster

Usually I am not a big fan of war movies, I find them extremely exhausting. Ordinarily, I need a break half way through to collect my emotions and look at something other than guns for about five minutes, and honestly this movie was no different. But what was different about this movie was the fact that the members of the platoon (oh gosh look its the title) were fighting with each other more than the Vietnamese, and I really haven’t seen that before.

And when the violence got gruesome I could distract myself with the attractive faces of young actors. If I’m gonna see some bullet wounds they might as well be on a young Kevin Dillon and Johnny Depp. imgresJohnny Drama was damn attractive in his younger years.

JohnnyDeppFace2And Johnny Depp definitely doesn’t suck in uniform.

Oh, and Dr. Cox from Scrubs was in it too! However, I was extremely confused and disgusted when he played a spineless kiss ass in the platoon, it was incredibly unsettling. I was also not a big fan of Kevin Dillon in this movie, when you’re used to him being the wonderfully idiotic Johnny Drama, you almost laugh when you see him holding a gun, but when he decides to kill two innocent civilians, you stop laughing. It made me so sad, all I wanted to do was love Kevin Dillon, but he decided to make it as difficult as possible.

I was not thrilled having Charlie Sheen as a main character. I’m sorry but I have never found him attractive, and really don’t think he is that great of an actor. In the movie, Sheen’s character was a little wussy in the beginning, saying he was dying when a bullet scrapped his neck, maybe he needed some of that tiger blood (is that joke still funny?). But in the last battle scene he actually went bat shit crazy, and the real Charlie Sheen was finally shown.

As with every war movie, you need those completely horrendous events that make a war movie a war movie. First you have that really awesome scene of innocent Vietnamese civilians being murdered and raped while their homes go up in flames. And then someone decides that they have to amputate a soldiers arm with a knife, at least that is what I assumed happened, my hands were covering the screen.

But obviously you need these horrible scenes to show the horrors of war, and have an large emotional impact. And it was a good war movie, and serious kudos to the make up department look at this guys crazy ass scars:

MV5BMjgwODE5NTE3OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzg1MzgxNA@@._V1._SX640_SY964_I really want to know how he got those scars though.

Rating: 4 out of 5 tremendously attractive young actors

Leave a Reply

