The Sixth Sense

The_sixth_sense

I can tell you one thing, the first five minutes of the movie sounded amazing, however I have no idea what they looked like. Once that terrible suspenseful music started my hands covered my eyes so fast, I may have slapped myself. And while I though I was going to have watch the rest of the movie through the small spaces between my fingers, I was pleasantly surprised. Maybe I’m jaded after the obsessive violence on Game of Thrones, or maybe the movie wasn’t that scary. But I was able to put my hands down long enough to watch the movie. And I have to say, I really liked it, and I didn’t think I would.

So basically the movie is about a small boy named Cole, played by Haley Joel Osment, who is a loner and has the misfortune of seeing dead people (the line “I see dead people”  spelled it out pretty clearly). He has a child therapist, Dr. Crow, played by Bruce Willis, who has become distant from his wife after one of his previous patients proved to be violent in his later years. I mean I’m sure other things happened with Bruce Willis, but Osment what actually the cutest thing ever, so I didn’t really care what was going on.

Just look at him wearing glasses without the lenses.

Cole-the-sixth-sense-2091805-654-418He clearly started the trend.

Honestly though, this kid could say anything, and I mean anything, and it wouldn’t matter because he has the most adorable voice. He spends half the movie talking about dead people, and all I can think about is how much I would love for him to record my voicemail greeting.

I also appreciated the role the director/writer had in the movie. It was long enough that you could say, “Hey look! It’s the director!” But short enough that you don’t question his level of narcism. Plus he has a super cool name, kudos M. Night Shyamalan, and thank you for helping She’s All That get made!

And sadly I’m sure everyone knows the twist at the end (thanks a lot 50 First Dates), but I totally put on my analysis hat and noticed that Bruce Willis’ character’s name was Dr. Crow. And as we all know a crow is a sign of death. BAM, I see what you did there Shyamalan, and I appreciate it.

As I was going along, enjoying the lovely movie, who should appear but Mischa Barton! And she immediately vomits, and that was super gross. It took me a second to realize that she was indeed playing a character, and not OD-ing on drugs. Then Osment goes to the funeral at her home, and it turns out she was very sick and died. But that didn’t make any sense because we all know Mischa Barton got killed in a car crash at the end of season three of The O.C. But it’s alright, I’ll let this one slide Shaymalan.

I really think it need to be noted that the signs that a ghost appeared in the The Sixth Sense are the same ones shown in Nickelodeon’s Danny Phantom617093-sixthsenseimgresIt’s a shame Danny Phantom wasn’t nearly as cute as Osment.

I’m fairly certain if this movie came out today, it would have been turned into a CBS detective show within the year. But I must say I was so pleasantly surprised by this movie, and it makes me so excited to watch other movies on the list that I would have never watched otherwise.

Rating: 4 out 5 peaking child actors

Haley Joel Osment Rating: 5 out of 5 adorableness points

Leave a Reply

