Pulp Fiction

Pulp_Fiction_cover

I think it is really hard not to be a fan of Quentin Tarantino movies. They are just so entertaining and funny in the quirkiest ways. I mean, to be perfectly honest, the guy freaks me out in real life. I’m sorry but he is scary, but I get on a certain level you have to be a little odd to make it. And this film was definitely more than a little odd in the best ways. In the film, there are three stories that appear to be unrelated, but end up coming together at various points. First you have a couple you robs a diner. Second, a pair of hit men (John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson) working for a mafia boss. And finally a boxer (Bruce Willis) who makes a deal with the boss.

I have to admit, I’m pretty proud of myself, I only hid my eyes like five times. And one of the was an absolute necessity. I have an intense fear of needles, and the shot of Travolta shooting up was not helping. Neither was the adrenaline needle sticking out of Uma Thurman’s chest. I also have this terrible habit of turning away when ever a gun is pulled out. I don’t understand, the gun isn’t pointing at me, and just because I’m not looking, doesn’t mean it isn’t going to happen, but that’s my issue. Though murder in the real world is always horrific and depressing, in Tarantino’s world, homicidal events are twisted into something humorous and almost artful. And the banter between Travolta’s and Jackson’s character is inspired, turning the intensive event of killing someone into a ordinary day at the office.

The only problem I have with the movie, resides in the scene where Travolta’s character is shot (apologies for the spoiler). If Willis was such a rush to get out of his apartment alive, why would he stop for a snack in his kitchen? I’m sure you can buy PopTarts somewhere else. And why would Travolta leave his gun on the kitchen counter, instead of taking it with him into the bathroom? As evident in the movie, it would be quite easy for someone to take the gun and shoot Travolta as he comes out of the bathroom. Perhaps he should leave the hit man business and focus on something he excels at, like dancing.

But all in all the film was as wonderful as the hairdo’s Travolta and Jackson were sporting throughout the film.

imagesNice.

Rating: 4 out of 5 Royales with cheese

Leave a Reply

