100 Days with 100 Movies

For me, movies have always been the ultimate comfort. Don’t get me wrong, mac and cheese and ice cream can also fit the bill, but there is nothing like a rainy day, warm blanket and a favorite movie to lift my spirits. As a result, I would like to think that I have seen a multitude of some really wonderful films. From the critically acclaimed films like Rain Man and Gone With the Wind, to the less honored, I’ll be it, sometimes less than intelectual romantic comedies, that can provide a comforting predictable quality not found in life. However, I have yet to see some of the “great” films. I still don’t know what kind of irresistible offer Marlon Brando is providing, or why I should be afraid of Virginia Woolf. These films and 98 more hold spots on the greatest films of all time by the American Film Institute and I need to know why. But why wait to watch them? If someone can travel the world in 80 days, I should be able to watch a movie everyday for the next 100 days. Even if I have seen the film before, another watch can always provide new details and insight. And while I am less than found of films of the horror variety, I will persevere, most likely with hands over my eyes and the volume turned down. So bring it on, twisted cult classic A Clockwork Orange, and four hour epic Ben-Hur, I’ve survived All About Steve, and I am sure I can survive you too. So now it begins, 100 Days, 100 Movies.

P.S. Frankly my dear I don’t give a damn, but if you want to follow along, here is the list of the 100 greatest movies of all time (10th Anniversary Edition) http://www.afi.com/100Years/movies10.aspx  Happy Watching!

movies

Leave a Reply

